YA Book Review: Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock

12985143

Title: Hemlock (Hemlock#1)
Author: Kathleen Peacock
Published:  May 8th 2012 by Katherine Tegen Books
Type: Fantasy, Supernatural
Paperback

add-to-goodreads-button3Summery: Mackenzie and Amy were best friends. Until Amy was brutally murdered.

Since then, Mac’s life has been turned upside down. She is being haunted by Amy in her dreams, and an extremist group called the Trackers has come to Mac’s hometown of Hemlock to hunt down Amy’s killer:

A white werewolf.

Lupine syndrome–also known as the werewolf virus–is on the rise across the country. Many of the infected try to hide their symptoms, but bloodlust is not easy to control.

Wanting desperately to put an end to her nightmares, Mac decides to investigate Amy’s murder herself. She discovers secrets lurking in the shadows of Hemlock, secrets about Amy’s boy-friend, Jason, her good pal Kyle, and especially her late best friend. Mac is thrown into a maelstrom of violence and betrayal that puts her life at risk.

Kathleen Peacock’s thrilling novel is the first in the Hemlock trilogy, a spell-binding urban fantasy series filled with provocative questions about prejudice, trust, lies, and love.

rb

I don’t understand why it took me so long to read this book, i mean i had it on my shelve for so long. I knew i was gonna like this book because of one WEREWOLF’S! yeah like how can i not read it. I am happy to say i finally finished reading this book and i was not disappointed at all. You really can’t go wrong with werewolf story’s.

With this story i already knew it had werewolves but i like how it was a werewolf story with a touch of mystery. And with Werewolf’s and Mystery you get yourself a EPIC story. The whole concept of the book just really mind blows my mind. I was really hooked in the story from the beginning to the end. Like i was HOOKED to every word. I haven’t read a good werewolf story since Nightshade and Shiver( Two of my favorite werewolf story’s ) i am happy to say i am add Hemlock to that list. Yes it was about werewolves but the story becomes more then that. Hemlock is so different then those two books. in Hemlock everyone knows about werewolves. People with the Werewolf gene get sent to this camp.

I really loved most of the characters, some i became addicted to. Every character in Hemlock has a serious part in the book. I really would love to just sit here and Fan-girl over every one of them. But spoilers and i just can’t do any spoilers. Cause lets face it everyone hates spoilers, but i will say the Author did such a great job portraying each character and how they all fit in the story.

The book was full of plot twist. One minute i would think i knew what was going on then Bam! a new twist comes in play and you are left with questions. Like i said the book is a mystery and i loves trying to follow along just to find out more, i was hooked.

I do have to mention this, Hemlock does have this whole love-triangle going on but it wasn’t annoyingly bad like some books. The author did a great job making the story more then that and didn’t make the whole book about the love-triangle. It worked for this book and without it, the story wouldn’t have make much sense.

How the book does end it does leave with more questions but you also get a lot answered at the same time. New things get added to the plot to the story and let me add was crazy wild that was. I really honest can’t believe it took me so long to read the book sooner. I feel really disappointed in myself on that. I just fell in  love with this book so much and really want to read the second book. I can see myself fan-girling over this book for while until i read the second book then fan-girl on that book.

If you haven’t read this book PLEASE do so, totally worth the wild ride. If you have read this book PLEASE fan-girl or fan-boy with me and lets talk about how awesome this book was.

My Rating:

star5

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “YA Book Review: Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock

  1. Lynette Noni February 14, 2014 at 12:30 pm Reply

    I was the same as you – I had this on my shelf forever before I picked it up one day and decided to give it a go. But, wow-ee, what a great book!!

Leave a Reply

Feed the Fishies

Get your own free Blogoversary button!
